Paradise Lost


Have you thought about the small things around you-things that you are so used to  that you haven’t given any thought? We have become so busy with our lives, that we  ignore these simple-yet beautiful and important things in life.

A few months back, I was reading a novel; in one particular chapter. it described the sunrise and how the sky turns from black to purple to pink to orange AND to  yellow, before it turns normal. At first I thought this was just an exaggeration and ignored it. But later, due to second thoughts, I decided to watch the sunrise the next day. I cannot describe the view in mere words ( he he.. I know this usage is a cliché 😉 )!!! it was so beautiful and breath taking and since then, I haven’t missed it even for a single day.

Today during the main-prose hour, I came across a stanza from William Blake’s “Auguries of Innocence” and I think it tries to convey the same thing (if you think about it.) :

To see a world in a grain of sand

And a heaven in a wild flower,

Hold infinity in the palm of your hand

And eternity in an hour.

Ah!! what a wonderful place would this world of ours be, if everyone were to think like that!! I would say that a peaceful and happy life is a Paradise Lost, as far as the 21st century people are concerned…(i refuse to say MEN. 🙂 )

So... what do you think?

