How was I to Know?


When I was young,

♥ ♥ ♥

I had my first heartbreak.

I would never, ever fall in love again,

I decided.

 
 
 
 

Whatever that was left of my broken heart,

Was to be locked up in a box;

Safe and sound;

Never to be opened up again.

 

How was I to know,

What life had in store for me?

Who would have known,

That the box was to be re-opened by you?

 

When I look back –

To that night years ago,

The night I cried myself to sleep;

– I cannot help, but laugh!!

 

It’s amazing isn’t it?

All it took you to heal

My battered heart,

Was a kiss and a smile.

 

How was I to know,

What life had in store for me?

Who would have known,

That the box was to be re-opened by you?

 

Now, as I stand here,

Beside you at this altar;

You may just say an “I do”- two simple words …

But thousands more are written in your eyes.

 

You are everything

I could ever wish for.

Wherever life takes us… if you are by my side,

There’s no place I would rather be…

