If I Were


For one moment

I wish I were one of those girls

Who worked towards getting what they wanted

Whether be it love or anything else.

 

If I were, you wouldn’t be

With her and the snotty friends of hers

Listening to them talk about shopping

You would be here with me.

 

If I were, I wouldn’t be

sitting back here and thinking

Of what would’ve been

Had I spoken the three words of truth.

 

If I were, I wouldn’t be

Forcing myself to not like you;

To ignore that I go breathless every time I see you.

 

If I were I wouldn’t be

Sitting at home and reading

A book on romance

On a perfect day like this.

 

And yet, here I am

Writing a song of

What would’ve been

Had I been different.

 

Copyright © 2011 All Rights Reserved

2 thoughts on “If I Were”

So... what do you think?

