Drama Queen


I know you have heard it a million times before, but I have to say it: Life is too short. I mean it. I mean, the days when i used to hold my dad’s hand, licking an ice-cream cone (cioccolato e fior-di-latte 🙂 ) while we window shopped for the latest gadgets (cameras and mobiles, mostly)seems like just yesterday. And now… look at me, I’m twenty and in college. What was I talking about? Right. Life being short.

If you’ve been wanting to do something for a very long time, you should probably do it. Who knows, you might end up being quite good at it. I had always wanted to be a part of a play. But, (yes, there was a BIG but.) I did not have the balls to stand in front of an audience and say 5 to six lines without getting them wrong. I had an excuse for this too. I have gone for many extempore and declamation competitions. NEVER, never have I managed to pull one off, without forgetting the key points. I would sweat and shiver and what not.

Last to last week, I gave it a shot and auditioned for the role of Puck from Shakespeare’s very famous A Midnight Summer Night’s Dream. I had not managed to come up with something extra ordinary during the practice sessions.
On the day of the competition, minutes before i get on stage, I thought, “hey those people out there don’t know you. They are gonna buy this character just the way you present it to them. You can either do a very pathetic imitation of this character, or you can do it in the best manner possible”. That was it. I was not scared anymore, I did not forget my lines and I was Puck. All my teachers and friends loved it. I can act (though not the very best)!!! I loooooooove draaaamaaa!!! ( think of PO’s very famous I LOOOOOVE KUNG FUUUUUUUUUU!!!).

Sheesh. I do sound like a drama queen, right? that’s it. I’m over it. I’m so over it.

One thought on “Drama Queen”

  1. ahhhh from Midsummer to Midnight’s Summer!!!!! clever, clever… Sandra! 😀

    hmm and you were Puck…? I would have loved to be an invisible fairy… on your shoulder… to see you in action… 🙂

So... what do you think?

