Love Poems and me


I am a goner when it comes to love poems. The good ones. Some of them actually make me weepy. So, one day me and my friend decided to have something of “DEAD POETS SOCIETY” thing in the college Library. She fished out one old dusty thick book titled American Poetry. It must be at least 80 years old. Anyway while thumbing through e. e. cummings and other poets, we came across Robert Frost’s The Telephone. Please take a minute to read this poem please. This article would sound like Greek and Latin, if you don’t know what exactly I am talking about. You can read the poem here

Right. So read the ending of the poem? It goes like this:

Or did you say–

Someone said ‘Come’–I heard it as I bowed.”

“I may have thought as much, but not aloud.”

“Well, so I came.”

Isn’t this so filmy? I could totally picture the scene: It’s raining and the heroine is long lost in thought staring at the street with a cup of coffee in her hands hair, when suddenly the door bell rings and when she opens the door and it’s – I’ll give you three choices: a) George Clooney b)  Leonardo di Caprio c) Heath Ledger 😀 – the hero with a sexy smile on his face leaning on the door frame saying : ” I thought you missed me so I came” . I could totally picture this in my head and I fell in love with the poem. 

So do you love love poems? If so, which one? Let me know. I would love to read them.

Oh. You should totally check out e. e. cummings. This is my FAVOURITE cummings quote: 

Love is the little thickness that makes a coin.

P.S: The upcoming exam is on American Literature – hence this post. 😀

 

2 thoughts on “Love Poems and me”

So... what do you think?

